The Jamaican Parliament

by Tanesha Pritchard

How many seats are in the House of Parliament?

Tanesha, thanks for your question.

There are two houses in the Jamaican Parliament.

The Senate, or Upper House, and the House of Representatives, or Lower House.

The island is made up of 60 constituencies, and each constituency elects one person, their Member of Parliament, to represent it in the House of Representatives.

The Senate, or Upper House, mainly reviews legislation passed by the House of Representatives, and consists of 21 members who are appointed by the Governor General.

Of these thirteen are appointed on the advice of the Prime Minister, and eight on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition.

You can find out more about the Jamaican Government on the Jamaica Information Service website.

Click here to post comments

Return to Ask Any Questions About Jamaica.